McMass: Would you like fries with that sermon?

I thought I would share this interesting link about a church that plans to build a McDonalds in its facility to attract more church members.

http://www.foxnews.com/leisure/2014/11/28/businessman-wants-to-build-mcdonalds-in-church/?intcmp=latestnews

The church is experiencing a decrease in its attendance.  I wonder why.

So… what do they decide to do then?  Do they pray harder for the “lost souls?” Do they start a campaign to reach out to the “least of these?” Or do they revise how they have been reflecting God’s message and try to be more spiritual and Christ-like?  If you think it may have been one of the above, you are completely wrong.

They are raising funds to put a McDonald’s franchise inside a place of worship.  Can you believe this?

Can I have fries with that order of holy burger, please?  Can I have holy water to drink?

“It’s time for churches to engage with entrepreneurship,” writes the group on its IndieGoGo site. “By combining a church and a McDonald’s we can create a self-sustaining, community-engaged, popular church, and an unparalleled McDonald’s restaurant.

It claims that, in the United States alone, three million people leave the church.  You can include me in that statistic.  So they think of combining church with McDonalds.  After all, this particular restaurant “brings communities together.”  So why not have a church use this company to help bring its community together as well?  I mean, who needs prayer and Bible studies, when you can have McMass?

What are they going to think of next?  DisneyMass?

This is an example of how screwed up  today’s church is.  They notice that they are losing members, so they start acting “in the flesh.”  Instead of focusing more on the spiritual, they think more about raising millions of dollars to buy a franchise.  Instead of thinking about how to send the message of love and compassion that God brought through Jesus, they think about how to attract people with burgers and fries.

Am I the only one embarrassed about this?  And we wonder why people, particularly skeptics, criticize today’s church.

What would Jesus do if he walks inside one of these McMass projects?  Would he throw out all the McDonald’s staff who work in the church, like he did at the temple in Jerusalem 2000 years ago?

“I’m loving it.”

You can see the full story on the Indie GoGo website  here.  http://igg.me/at/mcmass/x 

 

 

 

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

8 responses to “McMass: Would you like fries with that sermon?

  • anaivethinker

    Instead of thinking about how to send the message of love and compassion that God brought through Jesus, they think about how to attract people with burgers and fries.

    ^ This!

    Even though there may be a 10,000 strong annual decline in attendance, I do not think this represents a loss of beliefs. I think many of those people would still identify as Christians in some way, at least as believers in God. I think it may have to do with the cliche about every generation having to find some way to express the gospel, and our generation is still working on that.

    Anyway, well written, Noel. I’m also embarrassed by it.

    • Noel

      Naive thinker, thanks for commenting. I agree, every generation has adopted a different way of teaching the gospel. And I wonder, which one is the correct one?

  • S.C. Tanner

    I am overwhelmed with sympathy in this matter, Noel. However, you are blessed in that your eyes have not been shut, and your heart has not been hardened, so that you could not see or understand (Isaiah 44:18). It is difficult to cope with the shattering of our illusions, but your writings reveal that you have recognized and struggled with the truth for a long time. You should not despair when truth is revealed to you because it is a sign that you are blessed by the love of God.

    Far too many believe that the blessings of God equate to an abundant and easy life. This is the illusion of lust for material things. We only need to listen to the teachings of the Annointed One to realize this is the understanding of fools; consider carefully the options of the wide and narrow gates (Matthew 7: 13-14). The truth is that you made your choice long ago. That is why you are seeing what you see now. However, recognize the (ironic) truth of the words from “Stairway to Heaven” that tell us that “there’s still time to change the road you’re on,” if this path is too tough.

    The deceivers have become very careless in their deceptions as they have become surrounded by blind husks with hearts of stone that are easily swayed by the promise of an easy life. The attraction of the wide gate is that people do not have to walk the path of an individual: they can ride a bus (in luxury) through the wide gate. Now they can even get a burger and fries on that bus. Isn’t that simply the best idea since sliced bread?

    If we are to speak about truth here, I must tell you that “in the grand scheme of things” this “McMass” thing is minor, even trivial. There are far more harmful and insidious doctrines infiltrating Christian America than petty money-changers usurping the temple. I can point you to public statements on the Internet, and scriptures to measure those statements by, that could give the common Christian American a heart attack… if they have eyes to see and a heart to understand. I trust that you have the eyes and heart, but it may be too soon. Only you (and the Most High) can know.

    I testify that I left “The Church” many years ago, a disillusioned young man. With few exceptions, the conduct of the “congregation” was inconsistent with the teachings of Jesus, the Christ. In the spirit of Exodus 20:7, I no longer called myself “Christian,” as I do not wish to be numbered among these dark and blasphemous souls. I wished them no harm, but I do not want to be counted as one their kind. I wandered in a spiritual wilderness for some years afterwards.

    I eventually discovered the “Children of the Earth.” As with any belief system, there are also extremes within the Children of the Earth. However, a strong grounding in reality is a generally significant trait of these people.

    As I studied the “Craft of the Wise,” I found Jesus before me, once again, on the Path of Beauty. This really is not all that astounding as “The Church” is a social construct of humankind, while Jesus is simply Spirit. I then realized that my ideological conflicts were due to the social construct of humankind known as “The Church,” or religion… not with the Christ. It is truly a miracle that the myth and memory of Christ has had such a positive effect on humankind… despite inherent human corruption. One day I realized that it was easy to turn my back on “The Church,” but impossible to turn my back on the Christ, Jesus. For this reason, I believe “anaivethinker” makes a very valid point: the apparent exodus from “The Church” does not necessarily imply a loss of belief in the Christ. The focus of our attention is possibly improperly placed on the decline of religion when it should be placed on the resurrection of the body of Christ, the congregation.

    Spiritual growth is the product of personal experience, not conformity to religious instruction.

    • Noel

      S.C., as always your words are very inspiring and speak truth. It intrigues me when you say that I am “blessed by the love of God” for seeing the truth. The “truth” that I see in some believers and churches makes me wonder about the true nature of my relationship with God. Is He watching over me? Does God love me like a father? Or is God a distant being? I am convinced that following God is not about abundance and prosperity. On the contrary, it is about sacrifice and giving, but with joy. I also left the church because of the disillusionment. Jesus is not about raising funds for a new building… or about musical shows…. or about preferring a particular politician or patriotism. Jesus is about serving the poor. I will look up about Children of the Earth, it sounds interesting. Thanks again for commenting. We have a lot in common.

  • Eric Tonningsen

    Noel, this demonstrates why I left “organized” religion years ago. The church with which I belonged/aligned was so obviously focused on the bottom line that I knew it needed salvation and nourishment more than I did. This story is sadly amusing, yet oddly predictable.

    • Noel

      Eric, yes, some churches need to reconsider what they are representing. I noticed many times that churches act more like any earthly organization (political rallies, sports events, etc) than an organization based on giving to the poor.

  • Barbara Franken

    Noel this is so funny and so true what is happening today… better to go our own way I believe… Barbara

What are your thoughts?

