To Seek or not to Seek…?

Here is a dichotomy in my mind…

I can remain calm , through acceptance, self denial, and simplicity.  This will include being satisfied with what is, and refusing to desire so to avoid suffering.

 

Or I can live this life seeking for meaning through prayer, reflection, reading, and studying.  Being unsatisfied and wanting more in life, but feeling hopeful and maintaining faith that I will find more satisfaction .

I can let life continue to be without necessarily trying to “find ” God , or live by trying to discover who and what God is and hoping that a divine intervention will come.

What would be the correct path? I can decide to remain calm and accept life as it is, meditating and simply being.  I can do  this by being aware of the present moment.  Living in the here and now.  I can also remain calm by refraining from desiring and wanting.  Happiness would then be wanting what I already have.  Being a minimalist.  Believing that less in more.  Letting things pass through me… letting go…. without resistance… without judgment.  And experiencing peace.

But I am suddenly aware of the injustice of life.  I am aware of wars… hunger… terrorism …. and famine.  I then become more sensitive to the “evils” that poison this world.   I  start feeling anger…. frustration…. and disgust.   And then  I am motivated again to fight for justice and peace.

Which means I cannot just be. I have to move and do something.  So the question remains: Should I seek justice and peace?  Or should I simply be and accept?  Should I turn the other cheek, or fight for equality and justice? Should I remain calm, let go and let God…  or should I stand up and take action?

Blessed are the poor in spirit… but also are the ones who fight for justice.  Blessed are the meek, the ones who mourn,  and the peace makers… but also the ones who reveal the hypocrites, give to the poor, and speak the truth.

Maybe there is a time for everything.  A time to fight, and a time to make peace.   A time to speak, and a time to remain silent.

Perhaps we are called to act and not act according to the circumstances.  According to the needs at the moment.  But who decides?

Maybe it does not have to be a dichotomy, but a more fluid, mixed approach of seeking and not seeking according to our calling.

 

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

10 responses to “To Seek or not to Seek…?

  • Howie

    Hey Noel,

    As I was reading this post I was thinking of your final sentence the entire time, so I don’t have too much to add. 😉

    Whether or not there is a God who is interested in us, I think pursuing a life that is physically and psychologically healthy is the way to go. I’m also with you in helping others in that vein because, no matter what metaphysical reality there is “behind the scenes”, that makes me feel better due to the empathy I have for others.

    • Noel

      Howie, thanks for commenting. I agree, pursuing a life that is healthy in all aspects is the way to go. God would have agreed with this as well, since, by definition, He created us and loves us.

  • Eric Tonningsen

    Perhaps one can view this as opportunity versus a dichotomy. Your question-laden paragraph presents mortal and tangible challenges, Noel. I thought of this quote while reading your words…

    “I do not seek. I find” ~ Pablo Picasso

    I like your closing statement. I believe much of what we choose to ‘do’ and how we align our gifts and values — is considerably about our unique purpose/calling.

    A thoughtful post and call to action.

  • AligningWithTruth

    Thoughtful post Noel. I agree — “it does not have to be a dichotomy, but a more fluid, mixed approach of seeking and not seeking according to our calling.”

    Blessed be. ❤ ❤ ❤ NadineMarie ❤ ❤ ❤

  • new-man

    We seek God because we were built for relationship with Him. This is all He desires from us. In fact, this is what eternal life is, it’s having an intimate knowledge or relationship with God. It’s not just for when we get to heaven, but eternal life is for right now.
    Jn 17:3 This is eternal life: to know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom you sent.

    The Christian life is one of constant course correction. It’s not about doing it perfectly the first time. We are living stones being fashioned in the quarry of this earth realm for the rebuilding of one holy race/nation unto our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

    A believers life should be lived from a position of rest- resting in the finished work of Jesus, His Love, Mercy and Grace and not out of self effort. When we have a revelation of the awesome Love and goodness of God we will live righteous and victorious lives by accident than we could ever do by purpose – through self-effort.

    Blessed are the poor in spirit. The kingdom of heaven belong to those who are humble. Humility does not mean rating yourself below others, it means seeing yourself the way God sees you.
    The opposite of “poor in spirit” is self-centeredness. This runs the spectrum from those who are shy and debase themselves to those or are arrogant and exalt themselves.
    When we’re in Christ, it’s no longer about us, but all about Him. “All of Christ, none of me.”
    Another translation puts it this way: “Great blessings belong to those who know they are spiritually in need. God’s kingdom belongs to them.”

    Proverbs 13:10 Pride is the ONLY source of contention.
    Pride is not A source but THE ONLY source of contention. God is a humble God. Jesus is humble. We, his children must learn and walk in humility in grace.

    see:
    Humility in Grace – a teaching by Andrew Wommack (u-tube)

    • Noel

      New-man, thanks for commenting. It reminds me of Jesus’s words when he said “Come to me those of you who are tired… I will make you rest.” But my question to you is, if the Christian life is one of constant course of correction (like you said), how can we also live from a position of resting in the finished work of Jesus? Being poor in spirit is one of the most important teaching that Jesus gave us. Thanks for the bible verses.

  • Barbara Franken

    Hi Noel… great deep thoughts of which I remember having too for many years… sometimes the answer was to be quite and other times I had to act… which was correct? Now I now that all my actions are correct for me. Our divine essence is always waiting patiently for our connection… so when we decide that this moment is the moment to be aware and enlightened… it is indeed the moment and hopefully we can continued acting as the master and creator and we create our life as we go along… however we like… Lovely post again Barbara x

What are your thoughts?

