“Where is your God…?”

“How can you believe in  fairy tales like the existence of a  god?”

“If there is a god, there would not be  any suffering…”

“What scientific evidence do you have to prove God exists…?”

Have you ever been asked these questions by non-believers?  Have you ever felt challenged by people who demand proof, evidence, and mathematical formulas to prove the existence of “your God”?   It’s OK.  You don’t have to answer them.  Nobody really knows.

I sometimes wonder what is the nature of such questions and statements.  Could it be out of anger and frustration?  Could they be disillusioned with faith?  Why else would they ask where “my God” is?  These questions and demands are actually written in the Bible itself.   Job’s wife told him to curse God and to die in his misery (Job 2:9).  David writes about his enemies questioning where “his God” was? (Psalm 42:3)  The Pharisees demanded Jesus to descend from the cross if he was truly “the Son of God.” (Matthew 27:40)

What I suggest you do is simply express what your current views and beliefs are, without falling into the trap of engaging in a debate.  Because, I believe, debating is a waste of time.  We can debate all we want, while Life continues to pass by, and miss what is in front of us. Debating and trying to prove something to another person is another way of trying to defend the ego.

Speaking for myself, I don’t claim to “have a God”, therefore, I don’t own God.  If I say, “well my God is…”, then I am implying that I have my version of God already boxed conveniently in my possession, which I feel inclined to defend when others challenge “my” image of God.  He does not belong to me, but rather I belong to God.  I belong to the universe… I belong to  Truth…I am part of a whole… I am only a reflection of the ultimate Being.  I am just a tiny grain of sand in a desert.

Because it is truly fruitless to engage in apologetic discussions with non-believers, it is therefore better to simply be who you are at the present moment.  By this I mean, focus on the here and now.  Resist the temptation of trying to defend your beliefs, because by doing so, you are accepting a fight, and it takes away peace. Being in the Present is truly my salvation.  I live the true life by waiting and being still.  Reliving the past or worrying about the future keeps me away from salvation, away from God. Trying to defend my views of God, is the same as separating myself from God.

I also invite you to ask yourself the following questions.  And when you do, try to relate them to the idea that there is always some sort of dependence.  Nothing really exists by itself.  Not even our logic and reasoning :

Will a line ever get crooked by its own will?  Can the line ever be equal to the pencil and the hand that drew it?

Does 2 + 2 always equal 4?

Can the hole still be a hole without the donut?

Can rainbows ever rebel by appearing without the Sun?

Where in its curved surface does a circle begin?  What about a sphere?

How does  a painting ever separate itself from the canvas?  Can a painting exist without the painter?

Does a chess game ever take place without chess players?

Can we fully understand consciousness by using consciousness?

Can the character of a story be equal to the author of the story? Can a character also start questioning whether or not he or she has an author? Will the character ever understand the magnitude of the whole book?

Can we humans ever fully understand and live without God?

So… where is my God?  I don’t have one, because I belong to something bigger, beyond my comprehension.

I belong to God.

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

9 responses to ““Where is your God…?”

What are your thoughts?

