Learn from Children

Children learn by asking questions. They are curious about the world.  They actually make me think about the things that I usually take for granted.  For instance, my children ask questions like: “What makes it rain?” , “Who is in charge of our country?” and “How does a GPS know where we are…?”

In the same way, we learn by asking, questioning, researching, wondering.

If we do not, we will be stagnated in an immature state of mind and spirit.  We would continue to be immersed in our own selfish and superficial way of life.  We would continue to be bombarded with what the media tells us: be strong , be the best, have more, do more, exalt  the self, defend the ego….  We will be trapped in our own convenient worlds.  It would be like going back to our fetus position and continue to be fed by the umbilical cord of the ego.

We will  not learn to love, to care, or to forgive, because life would be all about feeling comfortable.

We enjoy to glorify ourselves through sports, businesses, politics, patriotism, religion, etc.  We eagerly try to exalt ourselves to a level higher than what we really are.  We like to pretend we are the best.  We like to believe we live in the best country, follow the right religion, eat the best food, and believe the right principles.  We enjoy pretending to be better than the other person, because it is the easiest way to fight our insecurities. But we are truly the last if we think this way.

The truth is, we are insignificant beings, yet we are important and worthwhile.

What we need to do is stand back, look at the big picture, and begin to learn and ask questions, because we don’t know everything, just like children do.

Like Mother Teresa once said, I would like to help other people of different points of view be better in what they believe and do, such as helping the Muslim be a better Muslim, a Christian be a better Christian, a Buddhist be a better Buddhist, and a Hindu be a better Hindu.  We can still learn from each other, in spite of some differences.

Instead of competing and comparing, we should share and assist.  Instead of being content with what we pretend we know,  we should be willing to continue to learn.  Instead of wanting to figure out the mysteries of life  and prematurely  reaching a conclusion with a simple doctrine, we should be brave enough to continue to explore and strive for more understanding.

Just like children do.

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

10 responses to “Learn from Children

  • lulu

    We have to keep working at finding our inner child no matter what our age!

  • Cindy Holman

    Great article! I try to look at things in a child-like way – some call me naive – but I prefer “child-like wonder” and let’s leave it at that 🙂

  • Marianne Lordi

    Why would I want to help a Budhist be a better Budhist or a Muslim be a better Muslim or a Hindu be a better Hindu when I know that no one comes to the Father except through Christ?

    • Noel

      Marianne, thanks for commenting. The best way I can answer your question is because I cannot force others to think the same way I do, and believe that if they don’t agree with me, then they are not worth meeting God. To me, that is a selfish, loveless, and manipulative way of thinking. It is like saying that I already have figured out what God is all about, and if others don’t share the same conclusion, then they are wrong. I used to think the same way you do, but I have learned that there is still a lot of growth that needs to be made, including accepting others and valuing them regardless of differences.

      • Marianne Lordi

        Hi Noel, do you believe what Christ said in the bible?

      • Noel

        Marianne, Jesus said a lot of things… I believe strongly what he said during the sermon on the mount, how he taught us to love our enemies, serve the poor, forgive, and other difficult but Godly acts against our selfish (sinful) nature. What I struggle with is the church’s evolving interpretation of who Jesus and God is, based on their social and political conveniences. You are welcome to read my posts “Church versus Jesus: Which one should I listen to?” written on Dec. 2011, and also “Church? Help Jesus Instead” written on Nov. 2011.

  • Marianne Lordi

    Jesus said a lot of things is true. But he said without compromise in John 14:6, ” I am the way,and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” That is not politics , religion or personal opinion. That is truth given by Jesus Christ himself. You can give to the poor all you want and you will never work your way into heaven. Read about the rich young ruler. He did good things too and yet he was not saved. You can not earn your way to heaven. It is through Christ alone. Jesus said a lot of things but he never contradicted his statement that you must go through him to get to the Father. That is not “church”.

    • Noel

      Marianne, I truly enjoy sharing ideas with you, in spite of disagreement. I wonder why people usually bring the issue of “can’t earn my way to heaven”. I am not as concerned about reaching heaven, as I am believing and doing what is right, not because I may get a reward after this life. My reward is to practice the Kingdom of Heaven here on Earth. I guess it all boils down to the question: Is Jesus God? I believe he is, but not in the way today’s church presents it. There is truly one way to God, and that is through mercy, compassion, forgiveness, service, and all those characteristics that are against our human, selfish nature. God cannot be reached through rituals, power, religion, etc. And Jesus is the perfect representation of this way of life that leads to God, which is probably why he identified himself as “the way” (He did the same when he identified himself with the “least of these”, the resurrection, and “the bread of life”). Jesus took it so seriously and personally, that he put himself on the sufferings’ shoes, and by doing this, he showed us the path to God. He then told us “you will do greater things”, and “you will move mountains”, and “you are the light of the earth”, encouraging and inviting us to live the life he did so that we can also live “heaven on earth” (“your will be done…”). Sorry about the long response. I know you won’t agree, but that is fine. Thanks for reading.

    • Noel

      I am glad! I also enjoy visiting yours. Although we may not agree on everything, I love the fact we can still share ideas and agree on some other things. Than you!

What are your thoughts?

