How Evolved Am I Towards God?

How far am I  from God? from Heaven?  from Truth? Reflecting further on this life, I keep contemplating on how far (or close) am I from discovering the entire meaning of my existence.  How different is my current concept of life versus the actual life?  Those of you who have followed my blog, have read that I believe that the main reason we are here on earth, the main theme of the Gospel, is to serve others.  And when we focus our attention to our own selfish agendas, then we are not accomplishing this mission.  The sooner I empty myself from preconceived concepts about people, the world, life itself, I believe the closer I evolve towards God.  Everything changes.  It is a fact of life.  If I choose to believe that I should believe certain things about life  without any room for continuous learning and growth, then I am stuck, stagnated, I am then in a spiritual crisis.  But to move on, to evolve,  in my spiritual journey means growing and therefore getting closer to God. Could I be wrong about this belief?  Yes I could, but I am convinced that at least I am here to serve others, unconditionally.

Evolving closer to God to me means  the following:

  • having less preconceived concepts about anything
  • accepting my faults and the faults of others
  • forgiving or refraining from holding grudges
  • overlooking social differences such as sexual orientation, race, gender, religion, world views, etc.
  • allowing the self to be transparent, without pretending to be someone I am not
  • practicing simplicity and humility
  • fighting for justice, peace, and equality
  • letting go of ambitions
  • having a growing desire to serve, unconditionally

What would be your definition of evolving towards God?

 

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

8 responses to “How Evolved Am I Towards God?

  • Cindy Holman

    I think my list would look similar to yours. I would add:

    Letting go of things I can’t change – in an effort to see “His” big picture.

  • Marianne Lordi

    Hi Noel, the main reason we are here on this earth is to serve God. In order to serve God, we must be ambassadors of his love and share that love with others.

    Do you recall the story about the rich young ruler who asked Jesus what he had to do to be saved? Jesus knew this man’s heart already. He told him to keep the commandments. The young man asked, “Which ones?” Jesus went on the give him all the comandments that dealt with man against man : Do not kill, do not commit adultery, do not steal, etc. The man said he did all these commandments. He did a lot of good things for others but he was not saved!
    Then Jesus spoke of the commands dealing with man and God. The first command is to love God above all other things. He told the man to sell all he had and to follow him. Of course the rutler did not want to do that. Jesus was sad for this man. He was lost! That is why Jesus said it was difficult for a rich man to get to heaven as it was for a camel to go throught the eye of a needle. That is because when you have wealth, it is hard to humble yourself and put God first.

    For that reason, Noel, we find that we are here to serve God. And if you truly are saved, the love of Christ that is in you will compel you to touch others with his love.

    • Hopeful_watcher

      I 100% agree with Marianne’s addition to the concept of service. Noel, you are ALL heart and I love you brother, so please take this in Christian love as it is intended. To say we are to serve humanity is a trap, because some higher authority somewhere will tell us how that service will look and the good works you can do to achieve salvation. However, there is an authority that supersedes all others and that is the Lord. Service to the Father is priority number one!!!

      Here is the cool thing… GOD LOVES US. So when we serve Him, ultimately we are serving those God cares for, which is all of those around you that you love and seek to serve. Do you see the distinction? Trust me, it is vital.

      So my definition of why we are here is to trust and lean on the Lord for our sustenance and to seek to do HIS Will in our lives over everything the world tells us what we should be doing.

    • Noel

      Marianne, thank you for your response. I am not as concerned about being “saved” as I am to simply do what I am supposed to do in this world. My nature leads me to desire a reward, but I don’t believe this should be my motivation. My understanding of the story of the young rich man is about loving God above possessions. I agree with you when you say that we are here to serve God, and we do that by FIRST giving away everything that makes us selfish, and THEN do what the rich man did. Serving others by expecting a reward or reserving some things for our own benefits (wealth or Salvation) is not serving God.

      Hopeful Watcher, thank you for responding. I don’t see a difference between genuinely serving others and serving God. However, If I serve others with the intention of getting a reward, then it is not the same (getting paid, getting recognition, getting “saved”).

      • Hopeful_watcher

        Serving others solely for their sake comes with baggage that cam lead is astray. Sometimes we want the person we help to show us some gratitude towards us. Perhaps we feel selfworth when serve others. But when the holy spirit nudged you to witness to someone and they turn to spit in your face, you will only follow through if you are serving the lord’s will.

      • Hopeful_watcher

        Correction: “comes with baggage that can lead us astray”

        typing on a phone is a bummer

  • jasonswartz

    You will know then by their fruit.

    I know only God is Good

    But if you were a tree you would make nice fruit =)

    You can tell when someone reads the Gospel from their heart, become everyone is welcome and excepted.

    When it is just with the head…….the whole Gospel if distorted and basically lost.

What are your thoughts?

