Am I Called to be Human?

Are we supposed to be humans, or something else? I had a very deep conversation with a coworker I value a lot.  She shared about her frustration with a consumer that has been a challenge…. I shared the same.  I said ” This consumer brings the worst out of me”  Then she started talking about “giving it to God.”  Was this a message from above, the answer to my prayers?  She also talked about changing our attitudes, instead of expecting others to change.  It was also mentioned that it is written “All things can be done in Jesus who strengthens me”.   I then thought about “turning the other cheek”, “forgiving others”, and “walking the extra mile.”  Are these things we normally do in life? Not really.  It is not human nature.

Then my coworker stated that it is not humanly possible to forgive a person as challenging as this consumer.  Then I asked “Are we called to be humans?”  Or are we called to be something greater than what our human nature is composed of?  And if I choose to believe that I should be perfect, does this mean I am living based on self-righteousness?  Am I fooling myself by trying to live beyond what is “humanly possible?”  Or am I really following a path closer to the Truth?

Consider the following conversation that I imagine having with God.  I start by asking questions and God answers:

What am I supposed to do in this life?

Love Me.

How exactly can I love something or someone who I cannot see?

It is the same as loving the person next to you.

But I don’t like or feel comfortable interacting with the person right next to me.  How can I love that person?

That is what love is…. genuinely caring for those you don’t necessarily associate with or like.

Well then loving you is extremely difficult.  Why make this love so hard to do?

Because you don’t do it with your own strength, but with my strength.

How can I use your strength then?

Simply ask.

It takes a lot of guts to give up on our “humaness” and submit to an  “unhuman” supreme Being. Right?  We want to love others our way, but by doing this, we naturally exclude some.  We reject those we dislike simply because of their differences.  We want to be acknowledged and belong, so we love only those who will make us feel important.  The love that God teaches us does not require a reward from our fellow humans.  It is rewarding in itself. Loving others the way God loves us is pure joy, regardless of how other humans respond.  It is difficult, uncomfortable, even scary.  But I believe it is what we are called to do.

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

3 responses to “Am I Called to be Human?

  • Tri

    This was so profound, you know this because I have difficulty loving the unloveable but as things are changing in my life I realize that you just have to keep loving. If that person is good enough for God to love then they are good enough for us to love. Easier said than done and I’m learning this and you posting this opens my eyes to things I have never seen before. Blessings to you Noel and this awesome ministry.

  • Tri

    Haven’t heard from you my friend, I pray all is well with you. I look forward to reading your postings, they are inspirational. Blessings to you.

  • Marianne Lordi

    Hi Noel, what a great co-worker you have! And I am so glad that your understanding of Christ power in you is hitting home. Isn’t it amazing that although we have no power to do anything good on our own, BUT, we CAN do ALL things through Christ who gives us his strength! That should give you rest and peace because it does not depend on your abiity but on HIS ability to do all things! You can forgive your enemies, you can walk away from a fight, you can be loving to those who are unloving because the power of Christ is in every believer giving you an atom bomb of power to conquer your flesh and overcome every temptation of the enemy! Believers are royalty in the making and nothing can stop God’s plan for their lives!

What are your thoughts?

