Difficult Life

Life is difficult.  The Life that Jesus taught is even more difficult. He taught about how to live the Kingdom of Heaven and its rewards (Mathew 5:1-12), but it is an uphill battle.

Let me share something that serves as an example. Yesterday was a rough  day at work. I felt I was about to lose control.  I prayed this morning about God leading me, and giving me strength. But instead I encountered a hectic day.  I haven’t prayed as much as I have before.  And I believe (or want to believe) that God is putting me in difficult situations so that I can “hit rock bottom” and reach out to Him.  Well that is exactly what happened yesterday.  I cried out to Jesus like I haven’t done in a while.  Whether or not this will work out, I am not sure, but I was in a state of desperation.  Am I going to reach out to God only when I am in a crisis or desperation?  I have even almost forgotten to practice daily what I believe is the reason for being: Living the Kingdom of Heaven.  Although this mainly entails serving the poor and loving others as I love myself, I am not able to do this if I don’t first humble myself, forgive others, be honest, stop worrying about material things, etc.  And, since I don’t learn the easy way, I guess I will have to learn the hard way.  So last night I cried like a baby, pleading God to give me strength.   I was praying like this because out of coincidence (or a message sent to God) I was listening to the radio on my way back from work and noticed  the song “Make you Stronger” my Madissa.  Was this a reminder from the Almighty about my current situation?  Am I supposed to be stronger after all of this tribulation?  Well, that is my hope, since I don’t think I can withstand this unless I am actually gaining some strength.

The life that Jesus taught, I mentioned at the beginning of this post, is even more difficult.  I believe so because he taught some outrageous things that we must do to live the Kingdom of Heaven.  Hatred is equal to murder and prefers forgiving each other than sacrifice  (Mathew 5:21-22). Lust is the same as adultery (Mathew 5:27). To swear is evil (Matthew 5:37).  We should love our enemies (Ouch!) so that we can be like God  (Mathew 5:38-45).  How can we possibly love those who hate us?  Who can possibly do such a thing?  And also we are supposed to turn the other cheek, walk the extra mile, and forgive 70 x 7. This sounds more difficult that what I am going through now.  So then, how can I experience the things that Jesus taught us to practice, if I cannot bare what I am living right now?

What I am trying to get at is that I have tried to know God with my own strengths.  I admit it.  And what I have learned lately is that I need to slow down and don’t worry so much about doing the right thing.  Having these difficult situations have helped me to realize this.  I need to wait (although I don’t want to) and allow these situations to humble me even more, because otherwise I am not going to be able to live the Kingdom of Heaven.

Please enjoy the music video that follows which has the lyrics of Madissa’s song “Make you Stronger”.  It brought tears to my eyes because it speaks exactly about what I have gone through.  It has been an inspiration.

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

9 responses to “Difficult Life

  • mtsweat

    Your so right friend, and not only difficult, but impossible. We can’t live up to the standard… because the standard is perfection. Again and again we hear the words, “Be Holy, Be perfect, Be righteous, Be etc. But praise God, One was all of these and more, Jesus! And by placing our faith in His work at the cross, where He took upon Himself our sin (past, present, and future), and gave us His righteousness. Paul (Rom. 7) and John (1 John 1:8) both make it clear that if we think we have arrived at some form of perfection this side of eternity, we are just fooling ourselves. Paul, in his third chapter to the Galatians also plainly states that we will be totally dependent on Jesus and His sacrifice until He makes us perfect. We’re not going to get to the level of perfection we want to be until then. Our sinful flesh is ever begging for attention.
    But… be of good cheer, you are showing the evidence of a true believer. One who hates their sin, and wants nothing more than to be the image of Jesus before God. One who pleads with God to give the strength to overcome and be victorious over sin (Rom. 6).
    I am so greatly encouraged by your openness to say what we should all be willing to say… we fail miserably daily. Because when we can finally portray this truth once again to the world, then we will impact that world, rather than think we’re fooling them into thinking we have achieved some level of goodness that we do not possess. The definition of our doing that is… pride. Thank you my friend and God bless.

  • Jabelah

    Nice Blog
    Please drop by on my blog site http://jabelah.wordpress.com/
    Thanks!

  • thewomanatthewell

    I nominated you for The Most Versatile Blogger award. To see why visit my post by the same name God Bless -watw

  • Yeve Eeffoc

    Ephesians 1:15-23

    15 For this reason, ever since I heard about your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love for all God’s people, 16 I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers. 17 I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit[f] of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better. 18 I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people, 19 and his incomparably great power for us who believe. That power is the same as the mighty strength 20 he exerted when he raised Christ from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms, 21 far above all rule and authority, power and dominion, and every name that is invoked, not only in the present age but also in the one to come. 22 And God placed all things under his feet and appointed him to be head over everything for the church, 23 which is his body, the fullness of him who fills everything in every way.

    Ephesians 1 was passed on to me a few days ago from a friend to read. You came to mind when reading this again today.

    Blessings!

  • Misty

    This is great. I’ve learned that through those difficult times, we should trust in him, and we don’t always have to know the reason behind it. Remember that he is to refine us like silver to wipe away the dross, and sometimes we have more to wipe away than other times. Be patient, and let him work all the while drawing even closer to him than ever before. He has a plan for whatever is going on.

    Also, something I’ve learned is that the more we try to help, the worse it gets. I don’t usually refer people to my blog in a comment of mine, but you might relate to my post about The Pit of Despair http://mistygatlin.wordpress.com/2011/07/21/pit-of-despair/

    I pray that you’re able to break free from whatever is going on. Sometimes it’s not something God intended for you, so just stay close to him, listen to his voice, and you’ll know what the best action is for you.

    Exodus 14:14 And the Lord himself will fight for you. You need only to be still.

    God bless you.

  • strostrud

    The problems of life are designed to make us live by faith. If there were no problems, then there would be no need for faith. There would also be no need for Christ’s power in our lives and consequently there would be no victory and reward in eternity. God allows hardships for us to rely on his Spirit’s control over our own desires and urges. Without these things for our intellect and will to weigh and choose, we cannot grow in dependence upon him. There is a verse that says that “God has bound all men over to disobedience so that He can have mercy on us all.” God wants to be our shining knight, our hero, our “marines” to save us out of our despair. He wants us to know that we cannot “handle” life on our own. But we need to come to that point before we will even seek him. Like Misty said above. Without the fire, the dross cannot be separated from the silver. As a silversmith by hobby, I know that molten silver reflects my image like a mirror or like mercury. So praise the Lord for the hardships even though we don’t like them. Heb 12. For more on this thought see my post http://whoareyoulord.wordpress.com/2011/07/24/christianity-is-humanly-impossible-to-do-by-gods-design

  • Misty

    Noel, would you mind if I used this picture on my blog (the one with the girl holding her hands over her face)? Thanks so much. You can email me at megatlin at verizon dot net

What are your thoughts?

