Quotes from a Great Servant

I have been inspired by a great famous servant, Mother Teresa, who shared the love that God wants us to live in his Kingdom.  Here are a few quotes that I strongly agree with and believe are the central theme of the real Gospel.

“People are often unreasonable and self-centered. Forgive them anyway. 
If you are kind, people may accuse you of ulterior motives. Be kind anyway. 
If you are honest, people may cheat you. Be honest anyway. 
If you find happiness, people may be jealous. Be happy anyway. 
The good you do today may be forgotten tomorrow. Do good anyway. 
Give the world the best you have and it may never be enough. Give your best anyway. 
For you see, in the end, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway.” 

“I am not sure exactly what heaven will be like, but I know that when we die and it comes time for God to judge us, he will not ask, ‘How many good things have you done in your life?’ rather he will ask, ‘How much love did you put into what you did?” 

—”Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not yet come. We have only today. Let us begin.” (This quote teaches us that NOW is the time to live the Kingdom of Heaven, not when we are ready or when we go to church)

“If we have no peace, it is because we have forgotten that we belong to each other.”  (Nobody is better than anybody, but we are the same in the eyes of God)

“At the end of life we will not be judged by how many diplomas we have received, how much money we have made, how many great things we have done.  We will be judged by “I was hungry, and you gave me something to eat, I was naked and you clothed me. I was homeless, and you took me in.” 

“The most terrible poverty is loneliness, and the feeling of being unloved.” 

“Each one of them is Jesus in disguise.”  (This quote  is one of my favorite ones)

There is only one God and He is God to all; therefore it is important that everyone is seen as equal before God. I’ve always said we should help a Hindu become a better Hindu, a Muslim become a better Muslim, a Catholic become a better Catholic.” ( I love this quote because it points out how unimportant the particular religion, but what matters is living the life God wants us to live)

“People who love each other fully and truly are the happiest people in the world. They may have little, they may have nothing, but they are happy people. Everything depends on how we love one another.”

“If you have a sick or lonely person at home, be there. Maybe just to hold a hand, maybe just to give a smile, that is the greatest, the most beautiful work.

“Faith in action is love, and love in action is service.  By transforming that faith into living acts of love, we put ourselves in contact with God Himself, with Jesus our Lord.”

“Christ is hidden under the suffering appearance of anyone who is hungry, naked, homeless, or dying.” (Jesus said it himself)

“We must convert our love for Christ into deeds. We must express Christian love in concrete, living ways.” (Because faith without works is dead, as written in the letter of James)

“Love does not measure; it just gives.”

Let us live this Kingdom of Heaven. Thank you for reading.

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

3 responses to “Quotes from a Great Servant

  • Cindy Holman

    I love ALL of these quotes – my very favorite quote is from Mother Teresa – and I have it listed as my favorite on facebook and anywhere else that I can “I have found the paradox – If I love until it hurts – then there is no hurt – but only more love.” Mother Teresa

  • livingvictoriously

    Noel, you didn’t know this, but she is one of my all time favorite people in the world… along with Mohamed Gandhi.
    My favorite quote of Mother Theresa is: “I know God won’t give me anything I can’t handle. I just wish he didn’t trust me so much,” and “God doesn’t require us to succeed, he only requires that you try”,
    Very inspirational. Thank you for reminding me of her; I needed that. Hugs. Marie.

  • “You Die a Believer, or Live Long Enough to See Yourself Become an Agnostic.” | Living the Kingdom

    […] know all there is to know about God.  I believe God is about mercy, compassion, forgiveness, service, unconditional care, and repentance.  I believe God is about turning the other cheek, walking the […]

What are your thoughts?

