Wheelchair Bound

My brother, Wheelchair bound, gets excited only by knowing that he is rolled outside of his apartment so that he can get some fresh air and see cars passing by. He is joyful just knowing that his nephews are coming to visit him.

My brother, he is laughing out loud when he sees others laughing at his jokes.  He likes the company of others.

He is Wheelchair bound, yet he smiles when you look at him and acknowledge his presence.

He cannot pull himself out of bed.

He cannot feed himself or comb his own hair.

He cannot communicate fluently.

He cannot walk.

But he can make people laugh. He is an encyclopedia full of information. He can remember too much. He forgets little. He is humble, almost sinless.  He can teach you to appreciate life more.

My brother knows his condition, and I can’t imagine what goes through his head. Is he thinking: “Why me?” Is he questioning: “Why can’t I enjoy life like others do?”  I see him Wheelchair bound, and I feel sad. I want to cry, but cannot, maybe because I have pretended so much not to be touched, I have tried to suppress it, because it hurts too much to see him like this.  It hurts too much to be fully aware of the injustice, and I get angry at God.

He is an angel.

He is a mystery.

He represents the suffering of this world.

He is Wheelchair bound.

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

8 responses to “Wheelchair Bound

  • Cindy Holman

    This is so sweet and touching. Sometimes we feel sorry for people – and they are full of joy and happiness and truly are givers – even in their handicap. They ARE angels 🙂

  • Mark D Ketchum

    Thank you…

  • livingvictoriously

    Noel, this is how I feel about my son who is Autistic. He is always smiling. I want to know what goes through his mind, but my questions usually don’t make any sense to him. I would give anything to have a normal conversation with him.

  • mrwalkinglogic

    That was a very touching segment of your personal life, tell your brother that I appreciate his love for life.

  • pbus1

    Noel,

    This post struck a chord, on the strings of my heart! I was deeply touched, and left with many thoughts coming to mind! For several years now, I have been looking through a lens, which is similar to the lens that your brother looks through. I suffer from a condition, which is neurological in nature, and is chronically painful and extremely debilitating, RSD.

    For those of us who are physically challenged, we can compare it to an individual who is imprisoned. Though we are in bondage physically, many of us experience more freedom than those who are walking around, living life, working every day, etc. We are free in our spirits, whereas many who are living life to the fullest extent, are actually bound in their spirits! When we are in Christ, there is a freedom that is beyond comparison, to any other type of freedom that exists! He who the Son sets free, is free indeed! I know God is a just God, and He does not make mistakes. According to His Word, and I believe every word, God says, “All things work together for good, to them that love the Lord, and to them who are the called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28) Sometimes we do not see the good, but we must take God at His word, and trust that it is working to our good, no matter how bad things may appear to be! As for myself, I know that I would not get through what I’m going through, without the grace and mercy of the Lord in my life!

    I was so touched by the love that you have for your brother. God loves him too! One thought that came to mind, after reading your post was, “bound but free.” I may be physically bound, but my spirit is free in Jesus! I’m sorry that my comment was so lengthy, but you truly touched my heart. As I dictated this comment, I struggled to hold back the tears. Thank you for being so transparent and honest with your readers. May your broken heart be soothed, by the touch of the Master’s hand!

  • Noel Delgado

    Pbus, your comment is an inspiration to me! You are right…. it is hard to see the good in things, but I have determined that it is better for me to trust that God knows what he is doing, simply because he is God. I have learned to accept my brother’s condition, even though in my human eyes it seems unfair and extremely sad. I understand that those of us who have physical abilities to do whatever we want, can be spiritually bound with worries, ambitions, depression, etc. My brother and those who are physically limited, like yourself, can live a simple, humble life, which is what Jesus said pleases God. This is why I choose to see my brother as an example of how humble God wants us to be to live the Kingdom of Heaven. But sometimes it is hard because I am still in the flesh. Anyways, I greatly appreciate your comment. It too touched my heart! Keep visiting! God Bless.

  • pbus1

    Noel,

    I’m happy that my comment was an inspiration to you. I write about the condition I suffer from, on my blog. As you said, because we are still in the flesh, when looking at these situations with our human eyes, it is very sad, as well as hurtful! My life before I became ill, was much more simple than this life, for sure! I enjoyed an award-winning career, and working and serving in my local church, were my passions! This is absolutely the most difficult thing I have ever had to endure, by far! Your brother probably has a similar story. If I didn’t have the Lord in my life, I don’t know how I would deal with all of this, or what I would do! I do get depressed at times, and it is upsetting to me at times, to deal with all of the pain and the symptoms that come along with suffering from this syndrome! However, God says that He will put no more on me than I can bear. I don’t understand why this happened, but I know that God knows. If I didn’t know that, it would be even more difficult to handle this on a day-to-day basis! I would guess that your brother feels the same way, at times. But as long as he has the Lord in his life, God will give him the strength to endure, and the peace that passeth all understanding. I’m sure he is also very grateful, to have you as a brother!

    I will keep you and your brother in my prayers! God bless!

  • hvac in murrells inlet

    I appreciate, cause I found exactly what I used to be looking for.
    You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless
    you man. Have a nice day. Bye

What are your thoughts?

