Forget Jesus

weeping JesusWho exactly was Jesus? An imaginary friend or a religious figure that was simply as good as Socrates or Gandhi? Did Jesus even exist? Maybe  He did just as an image that the early church used to justify its power. Or maybe as  a psychological crutch.

These are the concepts of Jesus which we manifest when we live lukewarm lives. These are the images of Jesus we romanticize to keep us from making our hands dirty and helping those who are in great need. Yes, this is the way that most of us live, behind a fabricated image of Jesus so that we can pretend we are “religious” or “spiritual” and do nothing for the Kingdom of Heaven.
“Forget Jesus” is what we claim when we live our selfish lives.  He is forgotten in prisons, where abuse happens all the time. He is forgotten on the streets where He has nothing to eat, no where to sleep comfortably, and no where to call home.  He is forgotten in foster homes and shelters where, at an early age, His parents abused him or neglected Him. He is forgotten in mother’s wombs where His life is determined to be terminated before being born. He is forgotten at every place where human trafficking exists. He is forgotten even where tornadoes and earthquakes devastate every home. It is easy to forget Jesus. It is so easy to remember about our own personal needs, our agenda, our dreams, our goals, and our ambitions.

Are we going to continue to forget Jesus?

” For I was an hungry, and you gave me meat: I was thirsty, and you gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in: Naked, and you clothed me: I was sick, and you visited me: I was in prison, and you came unto me.
 Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when did we see you  hungry, and fed you or thirsty?,  “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’” Matthew 24:35-40

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

3 responses to “Forget Jesus

  • Louis Hart

    Great post, Noel. I’ve enjoyed looking through your blog. Keep up the good work.

    Louis

  • Carol Ann Hoel

    Very touching post, Noel. Thank you for reminding us how we need to BE the church. We are his hands and feet on this earth. Blessings to you…

  • livingsuicidal

    One of my favorite passages. I was homeless twice, so when I see a homeless person, I always try to give them something.
    Back in Texas, I used to walk the parking lots in the morning looking for coins. I needed $1.09 to buy a cup of coffee; I could have all the refills I wanted! Hugs. Marie.

What are your thoughts?

