What Would YOU Do ????

aisle
Ok, I just had an experience at the supermarket that I have to share and get your opinion.  Have you seen the reality TV program, “What would You do?” with Jon Quinones?  Well, I just had an episode where I thought I was filmed by hidden cameras.  Here is what happened:  I was happily shopping at a supermarket (I won’t say which one) like any regular day.  I usually leave the cart somewhere while I go down the aisle  and pick up some items, instead of taking the cart everywhere I go.  So I returned to the cart with items on my hands, after maybe two minutes, and, Wham!! the cart was gone!!  I looked around, didn’t see it.  Walked up and down to different aisles, nothing.  I started wondering if I was going crazy or people were playing a trick on me.  I started thinking about hidden cameras and people watching me while they laughed.  I felt like an idiot.  So I left the items I had on my hand on a shelve and continued my search. Didn’t see it anywhere.  I thought, Is this really happening to me?  I tried to convince myself to calm down, because I was getting hysterical.  So I spotted the first clerk that I saw and told him that someone apparently accidently took my cart.  He looked at me with wide eyes and said: It was me.  What?  Why?  He said he asked people around about the cart and nobody claimed it, so he decided to take the items back to the shelves, because he didn’t want the meat to go bad.  I am thinking, “Are you kidding me?!”  So he apologetically went back and got some of the items back to me.  I followed him and basically started my shopping all over again.  I then told him I would take over from here, not to worry about it.  I was really furious!!  He apologized like 10 times to me.  I told him not to worry about it, but I really wanted to tell him:  Get another job, pal!  I even thought of telling other customers to hang on to their carts before it too disappeared.  But it did not end there, when I went back to get the items I left on the shelve, they were also gone!!!  This cannot be happening to me!!!

In the above real life scenario (which happened about half an hour ago), I felt tempted to complain to the manager.  I felt tempted to let other customers know.  I felt tempted to tell the guy what I really felt about the situation.  Couldn’t he just leave the cart alone ?  Who would leave a half full cart by itself in a supermarket?  Nobody.  Was this the guy’s first day at the job?  Many thoughts came to my mind that justified my anger.  Thoughts that fed my ego.  Thoughts that would tempt me to put this guy in his place.  But then I was struggling with other thoughts.  Other thoughts like:  This guy had good intentions.  This guy is probably still in training.  He seemed sincere when he apologized to me like 5 to 10 times. So I decided to let it go.  I really didn’t want him to get in trouble.  I actually saw him talking to a manager, but not sure if it was about the incident with the cart.  So maybe he explained it to the manager before I complained.  Nobody else came to talk to me about it.  I was angry, but decided not to act out of anger.

I am not sharing this to brag about me.  I am not writing this to show my readers what a good person I am for showing mercy.  I don’t want to assume self righteousness.  I just wanted to see if anyone would have done anything different. I actually thank God for this uncomfortable experience, because it tested me.  It gave me the opportunity to practice mercy, compassion, self control, selflessness. and forgiveness.  I put myself in this guy’s shoes, and I would have felt terrible.  So I decided to let it go.  I actually pray for this guy to learn from his mistakes.

Would you have done anything different?

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

4 responses to “What Would YOU Do ????

  • Cindy Holman

    Great story! First though, I just have to ask you: Why do you leave your cart and go and get items to put into it? Isn’t the whole point of a cart – to keep it with you to put the items in as you find them? Just wondering. And yes – I have had other situations that have tested me too. I think I’m so wonderful, calm, patient and then – WHAMMO!!! Something pushed my buttons and I don’t even recognize myself anymore in how I’m reacting!!! Crazy. My sinful, human side. I know I need lots of work – God is still working on me 🙂

  • Noel

    Cindy, I move quicker without the cart, so I leave it for a minute or two at the end of the aisles, to get the items, eventually I push it to the cash register. But I learned my lesson, trust me. 🙂

  • daisy frankenstein

    I used to work at a grocery store (a small town one, though, not a big supermarket) and when we were going through the shelves we used to find spoiled meat and dairy that people had just left there all the time. It was really frustrating, and it made me so angry – instead of wasting perfectly good food, why not put it back where it belonged? Or at least bring it to the front and give it to the cashier? So in a way, I kind of get where that guy was coming from – but I do think he should have tried a little harder/waited a little longer to see if the cart belonged to someone.

What are your thoughts?

