Waking Up From The American Dream.

AmericanDreamHave you ever had a dream? Of course you have. Dreams are usually desired things that we want to actually experience in real life. I want to be part of a community where everyone works together, peacefully, and selflessly for the common good. I dream of a society where we serve each other without expecting rewards. I dream of a neighborhood where people are not afraid of walking outside at night, everyone knows each other, and the thought of the next door neighbor’s needs are always in my mind. How about the American Dream? Does my desire for a selfless lifestyle fit the American Dream? I don’t think so. What is the American Dream? John Nestler wrote in 1973 that “Whereas the American Dream was once equated with certain principles of freedom, it is now equated with things. The American Dream has undergone a metamorphosis from principles to materialism. … When people are concerned more with the attainment of things than with the maintenance of principles, it is a sign of moral decay. And it is through such decay that loss of freedom occurs.” Is the American Dream about prosperity, individualism, success, and wealth? If so, I don’t want to be part of it. I rather be poor and live a life of simplicity, helping my fellow human beings in need. Wealth and success, to me, is a way of isolating ourselves from others. We become more individualized and selfish the more wealth we obtain. It is simply the way it its. Yes, some rich people have good hearts and give to charity. But I personally don’t want to fall in the trap of having too much, and forget about the ones who do not. Jesus said it is very difficult for a rich man to enter the Kingdom of Heaven. I understand now why: the love for money blinds us from seeing others as equal. Compassion and service disappears. If I dream of having the best cars, a big house, the greatest education, and the best clothes, I am surely missing something. I rather have a healthy family, close friends, and lovely home. Is having too much money bad? That is not what I am saying, but dreaming about having the best things is a barrier to living a full life.

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

6 responses to “Waking Up From The American Dream.

  • Bill Howdle

    Hi Noel, I just read the kind comment you left over on my blog, for which I thank you very much. I had to pop over for a visit and am very glad I did.
    I couldn’t agree with you more. It seems the American dream, the Canadian dream has sadly evolved to be a materialist dream.
    If we could only only open our eyes to see that we alrady have what is truly important.It is what we have in our hearts. Within our hearts God has already given us everything we really need.
    I hope you don’t mind but I am adding you to my blog roll
    Bill

    • Noel

      Bill, I am glad you understand, and please feel free to add me to your blog roll. I am looking forward reading more from your blog. God bless.

  • jeffssong

    Hi,Noel. You’ve hit a nail on the head there: greed has gotten in the way. But there’s a reason: the ‘monkey’ mind. Here’s how it goes (gonna ‘blog’ on this soon; been working folks towards ‘seeing’, ya know whut we mean?). But cuz’ YOU are SMART, here’s the bone:
    Greed is from fear. The fear is based upon the animal (monkey) mind’s survival instinct. In the monkey world, he who has the most fruit, controls others – and by controlling, removes threats to survival. See http://wp.me/p1t0dv-5H. Feel free to copy anything on my blah ol’ blog, BTW: it’s a free-for-all free for all. Always appreciate a ‘link back’ – there might be some other silly bear (Pooh, my kids love ‘im) – that wants more honey, or just is browsing thru this forest of words here. Until later – thanks for reminding me! Gotta run, busy man, me (Elvis, your best friend. Ok, not really: I’m everyone’s friend 😀

  • jeffssong

    Here ya go, Noel: our take on it for ‘the masses” Feel free to link to, back, around, whutever. Still learning those pony tricks myself!
    http://wp.me/p1t0dv-67

  • jeffssong

    Hey, Noel – Will you take a look at the two links for us? And if they sing to you; or you think others will find meaning – would you spread them around? Thanks. Your friends over here on the Ship of Fools, sailing through Paradise. (((( hugs & love )))) – JW and Crew.
    http://wp.me/p1t0dv-6t
    http://wp.me/p1t0dv-6G

  • Cindy Holman

    This sounds a little like what my husband calls my world – “Cindy Land” where everybody gets along – everyone forgives – there is peace and love and people can talk and put to rest hostility and misunderstanding – where there is freedom in being authentic without someone getting offended or biting your head off. Where it is safe. Yes – I want to live there.

What are your thoughts?

