Reflections of a Theist

fetusDefine life.  This is hard.  I was thinking today that this life, whatever it is, is very hard to define specifically.  I can use what the dictionary says, such as maybe the state of existence, being, my heart pumping blood, growing up, or my personal experience such as having a family ,having consciousness, meeting friends, learning, marrying and having beautiful children, etc.  But what is behind all of this?  Are we part of a big experiment? Are we one of millions and millions of galaxies with their own living beings?  Are we part of a gigantic atom that makes up another bigger world?   What started it all?   Too many questions without specific answers.  This is why I cannot rely on my own understanding, because it is simply too large, complex, and profound.  I cannot conclude there is nothing behind what I see either. God (or whatever you want to call it) is bigger than I can ever imagine.  I tend to use the analogy of writing a story with characters and different environments,  but the characters themselves will never have a full understanding of me, the author.  They will understand only as much as I allow them to. And because I have this understanding of life, I want to be this “character” who wants to continue to seek this God who started it all.  I understand and accept that I may not be able to understand God fully, but this does not discourage me from learning more.  Learning more from science is yet another way of learning more about God.  The more I learn about the complexity and structure of the universe, the more I appreciate the grandiosity of God.   There is so much suffering in this world.  There is so much injustice and disaster.  But I still have the urgency to seek more.  Suffering itself helps me to look for meaning.   It does not make much sense to me, but it begs the question “What is the purpose of this suffering?” I hold on to the faith that one day I will understand  God fully, but in the mean time, I accept my limitations and continue to seek meaning.  This is why I am so thankful for what Jesus taught, because his teachings help me to have a better idea of who God is and what I am supposed to do to experience Him more.  Thank you for reading.

universe

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

2 responses to “Reflections of a Theist

What are your thoughts?

