Embarrassed by the Church

Dear Church,

Part of my moving away from you is for the following reason:  you embarrass me.

I am embarrassed when people point out the fact that you are divided into so many denominations.

I am embarrassed when you preach love, but condemn gays, addicts, and other religions.

I am embarrassed that serving the poor is not a priority to you as “saving souls” .

I am embarrassed when you raise your hands to worship God, but keep them in your pockets when a homeless shows you a sign.

I am embarrassed that you identify yourself as the “body of Christ”, but lack presence in the world.

I am embarrassed by your lack of mercy and transparency.

I am embarrassed by your passion for filling up pews, but not filling up the stomachs of needy families.

I am embarrassed by your fervent attempt to defend your faith, but not defend the victims of discrimination.

I am NOT embarrassed by the Gospel, which is to love one another as ourselves, but by you, for failing to live the Gospel.

Sincerely,

A Reflective Christian.

 

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

6 responses to “Embarrassed by the Church

  • Cindy Holman

    Wow. Great food for thought here. You’d love my pastor, Stephen – his messages have been so like your articles lately. It’s telling it like it is – not the way we want to hear it. I love that.

  • Carol Ann Hoel

    Your experience with a church is different than mine. My church is the opposite of the one you depict. I understand why your church embarrasses you. Such a congregation is not living out their faith. No church is perfect, because we are not perfect, but it’s a shame someone as devoted as you is not part of a caring congregation. Blessings to you, Noel…

  • Marianne Lordi

    Noel, churches that you speak of that preach a powerless watered-down gospel are part of end times prophecy: “For the time will come when men will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear” (2 Tim 4:3) . We are getting to the end and Christ will be calling into account those who preached a “seeker-friendly” message instead of the cross will pay a price. I am grateful that not all churches are like this. Don’t give up, Noel, but be part of churches of truth.

  • Noel

    Thank you, Cindy, Carol, and Marianne. It is good to have people who listen and support. Please pray so that I can continue to grow towards God and not be completely disillusioned with God’s followers. I want to be an active part of the body of Jesus, not a decaying part. God bless.

  • Layla Gonzalez

    I am embarrassed when you preach love, but condemn gays, addicts, and other religions.

    Very well written. But it must be noted that God said to “HATE THE SIN, NOT THE SINNER.” I often ask where did the church lose it?

    In the first century when they were the first to create anti-semitism, then racism, and the stood by while Hitler sent 6 million Jews to their death…..

    Mahatma Ghandi wanted to become a Christian until he went to a church and met one….

    Mahatma Gandhi said, “I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ.”

    The church has much to account for not to mention all the blood on its hands. Shame, shame, shame.

  • Tuned in: Testing God once again | Living the Kingdom

    […] following posts:  Spiritual Roller coaster,  Is this all there is to Life?, Am I Losing Faith?, Embarrassed by the Church, How NOT to be a Good Christian,  Religiously […]

What are your thoughts?

