Don’t Miss This

 

I thought today how much I have missed in this life. I can see my children be born, change their diapers, teach them to walk, take them to school…. But I still missed a lot.  I see them running inside the house, but yell at them reminding them to walk.   I complain of how heavy they are when they try to climb all over me, but fail to contemplate how much they have grown.  I criticize how loud they sometimes are and scold them for yelling at each other, but fail to meditate on how much they have learned to communicate.  I try to avoid having to get up from my seat just to play catch, but miss the fact that they are still healthy and can play with me.  It is so easy to take for granted how blessed I am to have children who have grown so much.  I often complain  of little things that they do simply because I am so selfish.  I whine like a baby because they don’t meet my standards.  But fail to realize how much of a blessing they really are because they have met God’s standards. .  How unappreciative can I be?  How much more am I going to take for granted simply because I have a routine that I have to follow?  I have missed so much, I refuse to miss anymore. I will hug them at every opportunity, I will ask them about their day, I will play with them in spite of my fatigue, I will listen to them even if I am busy.  “Let the children come to me, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven.”

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

3 responses to “Don’t Miss This

What are your thoughts?

