If I were God

This is a post I wrote two years ago in my journal before using WordPress.   I wanted to share with my readers.  Here it goes.

Does God want us all to be healed?  And the popular answer is yes.   However, we all know that does not always happen no matter how much we pray for it.  My own experience proves it.  So the answer that I have is, since God, by definition,  knows everything, more than what I can comprehend (this is the most understanding I have about God), then the reason for the suffering, including sickness, must have a greater purpose than my physical limited mind can comprehend.  It is merely accepting that God knows what He is doing.  Is this easy to do?  Of course not!  I have suffered to accept the fact that my physically impaired brother was born that way and has not healed even after decades of devotional prayer for his healing.  But God knows why He has not allowed the healing to happen, even if we desire it so much.  If I don’t believe this, it is because I have not come to accept the fact that God knows more than I know, understands better than I can (He has the greatest understanding) and has a purpose for the suffering.  I doubt, question, and even start believing that God does not exist simply because my arrogant and rebellious nature does not allow me to accept that God knows all. If I doubt God, if I question his existence, it is simply because I have put conditions for God, in other words, I have demanded God to act the way I would, and if He does not meet my standards, then He must not exist.  This is more arrogant than to believe that Jesus is the only way to God.  Can I question God when I feel like it?  Sure you can.  Job and King David did.   We are humans, and we should also allow ourselves to be angry at God for our misunderstanding, like a child cries and throws a tantrum when he is not allowed to cross the road without looking both ways.  Like a better knowing parent, God knows why he does not allow the healing.  If I were God, I would certainly do a lot of things different, but I am not Him.  And I believe that if I would have his knowledge, I would do exactly what He is doing, no matter how less knowing beings, like humans, would protest.  Think about it.

 

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

6 responses to “If I were God

  • duke1959

    As humans we have such a limited capacity to understand the full meaning of God’s plan for us. Often people get all hung up on small issues that we forget to realize it’s all about those 6 hours that Friday.

  • Cindy Holman

    Tough subject. There are many that pray for healing – and never get it – at least the healing that we often pray for – the physical healing. I believe that because we are not God – we will not ever get it. But I have to believe that God cares way more about our heart than He does our personal and physical comfort – and He will use anything to get our attention and keep us focused on what the really important matter is. Even the apostle Paul had a ‘thorn in the flesh’ – but it keep him broken and humble – and completely depending on God – all of the time. It’s not comfortable and it is NOT what I would choose. But it is what it is – and God is still God.

  • Anna

    Hi Noel,
    You already have it!
    Have what? – You have the same power that raised Christ Jesus from the dead inside you. God’s spirit is on the inside of every believer.
    Adam (man) was placed in a finished work. Everything was perfect Gen 1:31. He was given power, dominion and authority over all the earth. It is for this reason that whatever God does in earth must be done through a covenant.
    (Think covenant with Abraham, Noah, Children of Israel etc.)

    When Adam lost his authority, power and dominion over the earth, a man was needed to restore all things back to mankind. It was for this reason Christ had to be born as a man. (Can explain another time).

    Jesus’ death and resurrection restored ALL things back to mankind- Spiritual Life, Forgiveness of Sins (Righteousness), Health, Provisions, ALL BLESSINGS.

    Living the Kingdom = everything that you will ever need has already been provided for.
    Are you seeking healing – you already have it!
    Are you seeking salvation, long life, wisdom, prosperity, faith, etc.- you already have it!

    How do I know- because Christ Jesus died on the cross 2000yrs ago. He was afflicted with all our diseases, and sin. (That’s why when you take communion, you partake of his body that was broken for our wholeness… we partake of his blood that was shed for the forgiveness of our sin).
    If your sins are forgiven, you are healed!

    How then to receive all that Christ has done for us.
    Faith is not something you do in order to get God to respond (i.e to do something He hasn’t done yet)- because God has already done everything. (That’s why Jesus cried “Finished” on the cross. All that the Father sent Him to do was done/accomplished).

    Faith is your positive response to what God has already done.
    Question- why would you doubt that you won’t get what you already have?
    By God you already have it!
    Know that you have it!

    Man, and especially most Christians do not realize the power and authority they have.
    (That’s why initially there will be weeping in heaven. We will be saying God we didn’t know you were this good).

    We have to take the power, authority and dominion that God has given to us and live the kingdom.
    We are the ones who have to heal the sick (all sickness)….cast out demonic oppression, raise the dead, feed the multitudes etc.

    All that Christ did, we are capable of doing and even more. That’s the authority, power and dominion Christ died to restore back to mankind.
    This is living the kingdom.
    God Bless You. Please watch the video below, you and your family will learn so much and benefit as greatly as I did.

    Please watch lesson 2 & 3.
    Have your mom watch and you can call this #(719) 635-1111
    Monday – Friday 4:30 AM to 9:30 PM MST

  • Sober Chick

    I’ve often pondered this question too. What is God’s purpose in my suffering and the suffering in others? God tells us His ways are not our ways and His thoughts are not our thoughts. And because I love Him and He loves me I just have to accept that’s the way it is and I will someday understand when I see Him in heaven. I’m sure we all have many questions for Him when we get there. haha And I’m sure He’s prepared to answer them all. Great post and God bless!

  • Anna

    Hi Sober Chick,
    the point I was making is that God did not cause our suffering. He has no purpose in it. He died for our sins… He was afflicted with our pains and diseases.
    How does God perfect us ?
    2Tim 3:16 All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in RIGHTEOUSNESS, That the man of God may be PERFECT, thoroughly furnished unto all good works.
    (righteousness just means Right Believing).

    What’s not in that list ? Sickness.
    We should only be perfected by the Word of God. God is light, love, the creator of life and all good things.

    Sickness is a wicked, evil, illegal thing… a curse…a captivity…bondage that Christ has died to redeem us from.
    Gal 3:13 Christ hath redeemed us from the curse of the law, being made a curse for us: for it is written, Cursed is every one that hangeth on a tree:

    Acts 10:38 How God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Ghost and with power: who went about doing good, and healing all that were oppressed of the devil; for God was with him.

    John 6:38 For I came down from heaven, not to do mine own will, but the will of him that sent me.
    Jesus came to do God (the Father’s) will. He spent most of his time healing. He never made anyone sick. He never left any sick. He didn’t discern what their sin was. He came to do the will of God.

    Mark 1:39-41 And he preached in their synagogues throughout all Galilee, and cast out devils.
    40 And there came a leper to him, beseeching him, and kneeling down to him, and saying unto him, If thou wilt, thou canst make me clean.
    41 And Jesus, moved with compassion, put forth his hand, and touched him, and saith unto him, I will; be thou clean.

  • Anna

    continued…
    If he will for him (the leper), he will for you. He will for your family member, he will for your friend. If he was willing to suffer for you on the cross, why would he not heal you.
    Let there be no doubt, Jesus wants to heal you. Jesus healed EVERYONE He made disciples of others so that more and more people could be healed.
    When we become born again the spirit of God moved on the inside of each and every believer. WE NOW have that power and authority to heal ourselves and to heal others… to cast out demons… to raise the dead… to feed the poor.
    (Currently, the majority of the body of Christ keeps waiting for God to do the things that He has commanded us to do). We have to do it! The authority has been restored to us to get these things done, in the name of Christ Jesus . Amen.
    When the world sees the body of Christ (us) doing these things, then they’ll know truly there is a God; A good, loving and wonderful Abba (Father).

    I’ll use the example in the video I’ll link to below:

    If you went home and found a snake in your house, you would TAKE AUTHORITY and kill the snake.
    You wouldn’t pray first to ask God what to do; you wouldn’t say perhaps this is the will of God for a snake to be in my house.

    It’s the same with sickness. See it for the snake that it is. Take the authority given to you and kill it. Don’t live with it!
    You kill it by speaking to it. You command it to leave.. you command it to die from its roots.
    You’ve said it once… you don’t need to keep saying it everyday.
    The rest of your days should be thanksgiving- “Father I want to thank you that I walk in perfect health. (Even when you don’t feel it… you say it). Praise strengthens your faith.

    God Bless, and stay in excellent health (As Christ is so are you in this world).

What are your thoughts?

