We are so Distracted

Everyday I get up in the morning and get ready for the day. I brush my teeth, eat breakfast, help my children get ready for school, and off we go. I go to work, spend most of the time in front of the computer, talk some on the phone, eat lunch, work some more, and then return home in the evening. Next day, the same thing. But sometimes I stop at a traffic light and I see a homeless person with a sign that says “Anything will help”. I turn on the radio and hear a news about people shooting other people. I go on the internet and read stories of people in Haiti still dying of cholera. These are a few reminders of what life is really about. LIfe is about responding to the need of the people. Life is not about the easier things, like responding to our own needs. Jesus commanded us to love each other like we love ourselves. Can I love others and pretend that I don’t read the homeless sign? Can I love others and change the radio station about people killing others? Can I love others and ignore the news about Haiti? We are so distracted about trivial things that makes us heartless beings.  We engage in useless discussions about whether we are living during the end times, what is the best religion, or if we should feel offended by someone’s comments about our faith.  Our own personal affairs make us selfish. Jesus taught us to be selfless. I cannot continue to be a Christian and be distracted. I must focus on Jesus’ teaching about the Kingdom of Heaven. I must simply  serve the poor.

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

One response to “We are so Distracted

  • Marianne Lordi

    Good reminder. To be in Christ is to have your heart broken by the things that break his heart. How can I be comfortable and satisfied when so many have so little? Jesus said that we will always have the poor but if my heart is not moved by their plight, how can I be part of of the body of Christ? I can’t help everyone, but I can help those that God chooses to put in my path. May my eyes never look away from those for whom my God has for me to help!

What are your thoughts?

