Why are we here?

Why are we here?  To live and then die?  To suffer until our last day?  To see other people suffer without significant reason?  I contemplated on these questions today at the dinner table with my wife.   After a long day at work, after handling bills, driving kids to and from school, cooking, cleaning, etc, we both sit down at the kitchen table and question what is the purpose of it all.  We struggle so much and at the end of the day not much is accomplished.  And the worst part is that we worry so much for nothing.  We need to be responsible, but what is the use of worrying about the bill that is due, the broken light bulb, the accumulated house chores that we haven’t had time to complete, the amount of dust over our ceiling fans, the classes we still need to take, and the other meaningless and trivial affairs that truly do not define who we are and what we are supposed to do with Life.  I am sick of it all!  What I am willing to worry about is everything about our children: their health, education, social lives, spiritual state, and interests.  These things I welcome as worries; I embrace this kind of pain.  But everything else is worthless.  The only other exception is taking care of those in need in the community.  But I need more time and energy to be able to this, and that is exactly what I am talking about.  Because I spend so much time and energy on the other trivial things, I don’t have enough time to spend on what I am supposed to do in  this life, besides worrying about my own children.  God’s children also need my help.  Rats! What is wrong with me?!  Why is this world so upside down?   What is the purpose of it all if I don’t have time to do what I am supposed to do?  About two years ago God opened my eyes to the realization that I am here to serve the poor. Why have I not done something about it yet?  Because of the stupidity of the trivial things I worry about that keeps me distracted.  I haven’t emptied myself enough to fill me up with Life; with the purpose of serving others.   I am still stagnated in my selfish lifestyle and I am not even aware of it, until now.  My new year’s resolution?  I was afraid of coming up with one, but I know it is to finally free myself from my selfish shell, go to a place, any place, and volunteer to serve the poor.  This will be my Salvation.

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

4 responses to “Why are we here?

  • Marianne Lordi

    Good message. I have found that if Satan can keep us busy enough doing our routing tasks, he won’t have to worry about us reaching out to help others. There is nothing wrong with taking care of your family. But the purpose that God has for us in being here right now must also be important to us. I believe that it is only in first seeking God and his kingdom that God gives me more than what I need. I don’t want to go to glory leaving behind even one dime that God intended for me to use for others.

  • Elizabeth Laryn

    It is so true that we busy ourselves with the trivial — the things that take us away from Christ–the things that our culture seems to say matters. I appreciate your candor and willingness to say it needs to stop. And, yet, admit how hard it is! I pray that you are able to find a way to serve those in your community this year!
    Godspeed, Elizabeth

  • Noel

    I appreciate your comment and I’m glad you understand as well.
    Thank you for visiting. Peace.

  • blueraindrop

    Good goal, hope its going well for you so far.
    Just always seems so hard to do extendedly.

What are your thoughts?

