Are we better than Children?

There is so much to learn from children.  Jesus said “Let the children come to me….” when some adults tried to prevent children from greeting him. He also said “Be like children” when trying to teach us the way to live correctly. Children are examples for us. I have learned, as a father, that we really don’t know anything. The more I live and learn, the more I realize how little we understand and know. This has helped me to be more humble. My ignorance has been more apparent when I notice how much my children can learn about new technologies much faster than I can. My children are faster when they play and learn new things.  They are also emotionally and socially transparent.  They show exactly how they feel.  They are honest.   Children show a genuine lifestyle when they express feelings.  Yes, we are supposed to guide them and teach them about social skills and academic, but I learned that children teach us about humility and life itself. Thanks to them, I have become less selfish. I have learned to truly love unconditionally. I have learned to practice the Kingdom of Heaven. And this is what Jesus referred to when he talked about children.   So the next time you see a child, do not overlook him or her.  Contemplate on his or her simplicity, genuineness, and playful nature.  Children are a reminder that life is still good, regardless of the suffering and the tribulations.   They are the gifts that God gives us so that we can practice unconditional love, the same love that God gives us.  Children are our opportunities for us to live as it is lived in heaven.  They are a true blessing.

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

What are your thoughts?

