Surrender to suffering

I read one time that surrender means lack of suffering, because to suffer implies resistance. This sounds good until I apply it to a real life scenario. If I am starving because I have not eaten, I will continue to suffer even if I have surrendered to the hunger. I have accepted my hunger, but continue to suffer because my body keeps hurting and weakening. When a beloved family member leaves this earth, I will miss his or her presence, which brings suffering, but I can then surrender and accept it. My suffering will continue to surface periodically because I remember and miss this person.  I will wish to have this person back on earth.  It is normal and even healthy to suffer.  Surrender to me is to accept the suffering, not to accept what caused the suffering and then pretend that the resistance is not there anymore. I believe that resistance (suffering) will continue to exist as long as I am living in this physical body.  It is inevitable.  My attitude about the resistance or suffering is what then determines if I have surrendered or not.  Jesus taught us to “take the cross and follow Him”, not to leave the cross and follow him.  He wanted us to “take it” and live with the cross, in other words, accept the fact that this life brings circumstances that we are not happy about which causes pain and suffering.  But it is ok.  Pain is ok.  It is simply a reminder that we are not perfect and really need God’s intervention in our lives.  Therefore, suffering is an instrument to getting closer to God.  See?  Suffering is not that bad after all.  It actually can bring us to a more intimate relationship with God, if we surrender to it.

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

One response to “Surrender to suffering

What are your thoughts?

