Finding Peace with Death

Death is the ultimate mystery. Many people fear it, including myself. However, I have started to contemplate on its positive nature. I have always been taught of the afterlife in heaven.   But now I have a more profound idea and belief in what can await me on the “other side”.   I have recently read the classic book “Life after Life” by Raymond Moody, which has helped me to open my eyes to accepting death.   I finally have less fear and more hope about the life after this life. The teachings of Jesus of Nazareth confirm this new hope, when he talks about “many rooms in his Father’s house” and meeting him when we depart. But of most importance is the realization that, as mentioned in both the Bible and Moody’s book, it is our responsibility to serve others unconditionally while we still live on Earth.   We must love others as we love ourselves, and we must do this without selfish intentions.  This is our assignment here on earth.  It is our obligation.  People all around us suffer from starvation, depression, illness, and wars, but often we ignore because we rather worry about our trivial and selfish problems.  The person next to us could be going through depression and agony, and we are concerned about the stock or the next appointment with the beautician.  How insensitive can we be?  The life after this life is what really counts, after we succeed in serving others during this current  life. I believe that if we do not accomplish what we are called to do, then we will be reminded of our failures in the afterlife.  It is the purpose of our existence on earth, so that then we can be finally rewarded in heaven.  This is my faith.   Is it also yours?

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

What are your thoughts?

