To know God is a barrier to knowing God

If I believe that I know God, then I am limiting myself from truly knowing God.  No matter how certain I want to be about life, the reality is that life is gradual, everything is a combination of different gray areas, not black and white. There are a few exceptions where absolutes are present, such as in mathematics and logic.  But when it comes to experiencing life in general, we cannot escape the reality that we experience different degrees of almost everything.  So, to claim that I know who God really is and what He or She represents, I am fooling myself.  Learning about the nature of the Almighty takes experience, not just reading books, listening to a teacher, or attending a religious ceremony.  It involves a holistic approach, in other words, the three examples I mentioned above and more.  It takes going through tough times, enjoying the happy moments, the times we work, the times we rest; everything.  Instead of stating that I know God, I rather say, I am knowing God, because the process of learning who is God is a continuous journey, not a single isolated event.

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

What are your thoughts?

