The Big Picture

I have recently contemplated on the importance of thinking about the Big Picture.    I have realized that the nature of my daily worries and anxiety is the result of me failing to think about the Big Picture.  I don’t know for sure if this happens to everyone (although I believe it does) but when I worry about by job, for instance, whether or not I am going to be working in the same company, I tend to focus solely on this “dilemma”.  When I think about being late paying my bills, I think about this all the time.  When I worry about the safety of my children when they go out on long trips without me, I only think about the possibility of them being hurt.  Everything else becomes secondary or almost non-existent in my mind.  And this happens simply  because I choose to focus solely on what worries me.  If I lose my job, will that be the end of my career?  Not necessarily, because I could still look for another job or change careers, which would not be easy but it is still possible.  If I am late paying my bills, will all services be cut off?  Not really, because I will still have a chance to pay even if it is late and my life will not be jeopardized.  God forbid, if my children get hurt, will this be the end of the world?  Even if I consider my children “my world”, life goes on.  But instead I become an expert in obsessing.  I am truly an obsessive compulsive person when it comes to worrying.  And when I do, it consumes me.  This is exactly what psychiatrist diagnose as having an Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD).  I have this disorder when I think only about the things that worry me.  It makes me anxious, frustrated, bitter, and distant from others.

The solution?    Think about the Big Picture.  How do I do this?  It takes practice. However, I am not implying that we stop being responsible and forget about the details of life.  What I am suggesting is refraining from allowing the details of life become life itself.  I have been able to think more about the Big Picture when crisis happens (paradoxically) because, for instance, when  a distant family member suddenly is in great need for help, I tend to forget all the nonsense that I usually think about this family member that kept me from relating more with him.  If I used to think about how a jerk this family member was, I forget about it when I reach out to him for help or vice versa.  When I contemplate on the beauty of the sunrise and sunset, I tend to put aside the worry about late bill payments, because paying the bills is not the most important thing in life.  When I see the smile on my children’s faces, I tend to forget the little naughty things that sometimes get on my last nerves, because their health and my love for them is greater than any disobedience.  When I see people starving on the streets because they have no food or shelter, then judging others and discriminating becomes an undesirable practice.  Feeding the hungry and sheltering the homeless is more important than trying to figure out who is right and wrong.

This is what I believe that God called me to do…. to look at the Big Picture, because He certainly looks at it.  I worry about what is going to happen in my life right around the corner.  But I don’t see what is around the corner, but I can see where I am standing right now.  This is my Big Picture , because there is so much more to see where I am , than where I am not.  Another way of describing this is focusing on the “here and now”.  Didn’t Jesus warned us not to worry about food we eat, and the clothes we wear?  Didn’t Jesus told us to trust in God and to worry instead about the Kingdom of Heaven, which is to serve others?   This is what I should worry about:  feeding the hungry, treating everyone equally, forgiving, being meek, depending on God, fighting for justice, and accepting my weaknesses.  Everything else is just as obsession.

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

One response to “The Big Picture

What are your thoughts?

