I met Jesus….

I met Jesus the other day.   He was staying in a mental health hospital, depressed and lonely.  He was crying and feeling unworthy.  I also met Him again today, as I was feeding Him lunch, because He cannot use His hands and is wheelchair bound.  I have met Jesus in many situations.  Not in a church, or in a supernatural experience.  But in everyday life.  This is what I have to learn in life:  that Jesus can be found in every person that needs help.  He can be any neighbor, friend, stranger, and even enemy who is needy and is giving me an opportunity to serve Him.  He does not have to be friendly or likable, but simply needy.  He can be male or female, black or white, child or elderly, friend or foe.  Yes, this is what Jesus taught, that “If you visit the inmates, feed the hungry, cloth the naked, visit the sick, we have done it to Him”  Jesus regarded the needy as Himself.  He loved them so much.  It is the same way as a parent who perceives someone that hurts his or her child as hurting them personally.  You hurt my child, you are hurting me.  You help my child, you are helping me .  Jesus perceived it the same way, and commanded us to do the same for those He loves: the needy.   So, every time I meet someone in need, instead of thinking about myself by emphasizing on how inconvenient this person is to me, I rather think and be reminded about Jesus.  If I ignore the needy ones, I am ignoring Jesus.  I am looking forward to continuing to meet Jesus.

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

What are your thoughts?

