What if…?

What if we could make a commitment to help someone else besides ourselves, outside of our regular duties such as immediate family and work, for a week, expecting nothing in return?  What would be the result of this new task?  I am curious, for this is what Jesus taught us to do.  Are we brave enough to do this?

What if we, Christians, simply act and do the same thing that Jesus taught us?  How different would be the world with Christians who actually live the Kingdom of Heaven?  I think that non-Christians would change their perspective of us.  And it is not so that others can think highly of us, but so that we can simply follow Jesus’ command about what we are supposed to do. “Why do you call me ‘Lord, Lord!’ but do not do what I say?” This is exactly what Jesus keeps asking me in my heart, I can almost hear him.  Sometimes I am ashamed of being labeled as a Christian, because I let my selfish nature take over and prevent me from living the Kingdom, serving others unconditionally.  “Deny yourself, take up your cross, and follow Me!” Yes, I can hear Jesus telling me this over and over again.  How can I start this LIFE?  By looking at the other human being besides me and serving him or her.  Studying and living what Jesus taught on Mathews chapter 5 is an excellent beginning.

What if I do this, what change will it bring….?

You see,  I have come to the conclusion (and I am still searching for more profound understanding) that Jesus didn’t just teach about forgiving sins, but also about what we should do once we realize that our sins are forgiven.  We are not saved so that we can continue to go to church and continue to be “fed”.  No, we are saved so that we can go out and serve others, even those we don’t feel like serving, like “our enemies”.  The same way that Jesus washed his disciples’ feet, we should do for others because he said “I have given you the example, so that the same way I just did, you do.” (John 13:14).

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

What are your thoughts?

