The Evolution of my Spiritual Life

I was raised as a devoted Christian , in the Roman Catholic Church, which was like a spiritual Ice Age.  But my life started “melting” when I transferred to a  Pentecostal church, where I had a deeper sense of the meaning of God, the Bible,  and the presence of the Holy Spirit.  After almost 10 years of actively working in the church, I came to a conclusion that what I was doing was mere tradition and duty, but not a profound relationship with God.  I thought I had it all figured out, but the presence of God in my life has been superficial.  I have been disillusioned many times by the acts of man in the church, to the point that I have felt embarrassed to even be called a Christian.  But I strongly believe that God is greater than what I have experienced so far.  I have been looking at my life in a different way now.  I started attending a new church a year or so ago, but still struggle with having a true relationship with God, particularly Jesus.  I have written a log full of experiences, both good and bad, close and far from God, but always struggling in my faith.  I have learned that this is normal in the Christian life.  But I want more.  More than just going to church and reading the Bible once in a while. I want to give it all, but to feel the urgency and the passion first.  I have learned lately that Jesus probably meant something more than just be nice to one another and spread the Good News.  I want to experience the true meaning of His teachings.  I want to get out of my comfort zone and “be born again” in a genuine way, not in ways that others tell me to.  I want to live the Kingdom of Heaven the way Jesus meant.  Do you know what I mean?

About Noel

I am a person who has realized that the teachings of Jesus are centralized in the genuine care and service of others. I have evolved from fundamentalism to a moderate spiritual approach. I am a reflecting person who has grown to not fear doubt but to embrace it as a means to growth and increasing closeness to God. View all posts by Noel

One response to “The Evolution of my Spiritual Life

What are your thoughts?

